March 24, 2018

Main » Neiphiu Rio to swear in as next CM of Nagaland today

Neiphiu Rio to swear in as next CM of Nagaland today

09 March 2018

The newly-mandated alliance government, comprising 32 elected members of the NDPP, BJP, JD (U) and an Independent, however, has chose to take oath before the public.

Neiphiu Rio has won the game of thrones but it could turn out to be a crown of thorns for the Nagaland chief minister.

The BJP leaders informed the Governor that Y Patton had been elected the BJP Legislature Party leader in the Assembly.

Nagaland's Governor PB Acharya will administer the oath of office and secrecy to the Council of Ministers headed by Rio at the swearing-in ceremony on March 8 at 11:30 am at Khouchiezie (Kohima Local Ground). He also emphasised the development in the state on his governance.

Rio's predecessor, T.R. Zeliang, leader of the NPF Legislature Party, has promised to "extend full support" to the new government in the "larger" interest of the Naga people but has also indirectly conveyed to the new dispensation that the NPF will be no pushover, as it is a "factor" to be taken into "account" in all political processes.

Neiphiu Rio being sworn-in as chief minister.

Apart from this, the Governor also asked the leader of NDPP Legislative Party to prove his majority in a floor test to be held on March 16 as there was a ruckus going in the state for the post of the Chief Minister.

The NDPP-BJP, which stitched a pre-poll alliance and contested in 40 and 20 Assembly seats respectively, formed the PDA with the Janata Dal-United, National People's Party and Independent member after the election results were declared on March 3.

BJP president Amit Shah, defence minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister of state for home affairs Kiren Rijiju, and BJP general secretary in-charge of the northeast Ram Madhav were in attendance as the new government was sworn-in.

Rio had served his three previous terms between 2003 and May 2014, making him the only Nagaland Chief Minister to have served three consecutive terms in office. The independent candidate Tongpang Ozukum and JD (U)'s G Kaito Aye were also inducted into the new cabinet.

On Monday, the BJP announced it had severed its 15-year-old alliance with the NPF.

Neiphiu Rio to swear in as next CM of Nagaland today